Be careful! An injured worker has 2 years from the accident date to file an application for adjustment of claim form with the Indiana Workers’ Compensation Board or their claim for further benefits or any benefits may end. Some workers may be lulled into a sense of security because the insurance carrier is paying medical benefits. Make sure you take steps to toll the 2 year statute of limitations!
If you would benefit from legal counsel, our office does not charge for a consultation. All Indiana Worker’s Compensation attorneys charge the same because fees are set byIndianalaw. Klezmer Maudlin can only charge a percentage of any recovery received and will not charge you an up-front fee for our services.
Under the Indiana Workers’ Compensation Act, attorney fees are limited to 20% of the first $50,000.00, and 15% of any remaining balance. With limited exceptions, we also will collect our out-of-pocket expenses from the recovery and not from you. If you hire us with an offer already given to you, we will typically agree not to charge an attorney fee unless we recover additional money. For example, if you hire us with an offer already of $5,000.00 and 3 months later we tell you we can only get you $5,000.00, we will typically not charge you.
We will discuss this in more detail at the free initial consultation and put our agreement in writing. If you have any questions regarding our attorney’s fee, please contact us at 1-800-809-3776.